Booths to be presented honorary degrees

December 13, 2013

MOREHEAD — James H. Booth will receive a Doctor of Business degree, while a Doctor of Public Service degree will be awarded to Linda D. Booth, during Morehead State University’s Fall Commencement, Saturday, Dec. 14.

During the ceremony that begins at 10:30 a.m. in the Academic-Athletic Center, MSU President Wayne D. Andrews will confer degrees on 683 graduate and undergraduate students.

A longtime member of the Morehead State University Board of Regents and former chair, Jim Booth is a successful entrepreneur in the retail business and the coal industry. He has been in the mining industry for more than 40 years, cultivating a small contract mining company in 1975 into a $750 million annualized revenue coal producing and retail marketing entity. Through his coal and retail businesses, Mr. Booth has created more than 2,000 jobs for the region.

Jim Booth believes in education and serves students in the state and region through his commitment to higher education. In addition to providing leadership at MSU, he also serves on the University of Kentucky and the University of Pikeville Board of Trustees.

Mr. Booth received his Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Morehead State.

For more than 30 years, Linda Booth has developed and managed specialty retail businesses and has been successful in commercial and residential interior design, including franchised hotels through Interstate Lodging Inc. based in Lovely.

Her expertise in the industry also includes renovations of high value residential homes and interior design for commercial office spaces.

In 1998, Mrs. Booth established and designed Miss Ida’s Tea Room in Inez where she manages daily operations including catering and developing new menu and food programs. She also is an MSU alumnus.

For the commencement exercises, the grand marshal and mace bearer will be Dr. Ric Caric, professor of international and interdisciplinary studies, who received the 2013 Distinguished Teacher Award.

Faculty marshals will be Dr. Frances L. Helphinstine, professor of English, and Dr. Dora Ahmadi, chair of the Department of Mathematics, Computer Sciences and Physics.

Student marshals will be Sean Corbin and Jennifer Downey, Graduate Programs; William Holbrook and Lauren McCauley, College of Science and Technology; Noah Polk and Molly Flanagan, College of Business and Public Affairs; Erin Rummage and Sarah Francis, College of Education; Faith Brown and Abbie Crowe, Caudill College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.

Jeremy Roberts will sing the national anthem; Joseph Rivers will lead the alma mater; and MSU’s Black Gospel Ensemble, directed by Dr. Roosevelt Escalante, will perform during the commencement program.

Following the ceremony, the newest alumni will be inducted into the MSU Alumni Association Inc. by its president, Sen. Robin Webb of Grayson.

Additional information on Fall Commencement exercises is available by calling 606-783-2008.