UPIKE faculty receives recognition from KMEA District 9

Staff Report

PIKEVILLE – Janean Freeman, assistant professor of music at the University of Pikeville, was named the college/university teacher of the year during the 2016 Kentucky Music Educators Association District 9 All-District Band Concert in Paintsville.

High school students from Breathitt, Floyd, Johnson, Knott, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Perry, and Pike counties auditioned for their roles in the distinguished ensemble. David Clemmer, director of bands and assistant professor of music at Eastern Kentucky University, conducted the band of 65 students.

Awards were also presented to Mark Hopkins, Shelby Valley High School, high school teacher of the year; Dwain Stevens, owner of Sound House Music, “Friend of Music;” Pauletta Smith, Hazard High School, citation for service; and Kevin Combs, Hazard Middle School principal, outstanding administrator.

Freeman has received the college/university teacher of the year award five times during her tenure at UPIKE.


Staff Report


10:19 am
Updated: 1:18 pm. |    
Mudslide holds up traffic in Grethel
9:14 am
Updated: 9:14 am. |    
Chamber holds 53rd awards banquet
comments powered by Disqus