Voters paint the state red in Kentucky elections

Republicans take four out of six state races

by Jackson Latta

PRESTONSBURG – The Republican party took control of state government Tuesday night with a series of huge and historic wins for the GOP.

As election results started pouring in after 6:00 p.m. Tuesday evening the results of the election showed glimpses early on of historic implications.

Republicans dominated the field through nearly the entire counting procedure. As the votes were tallied, it became apparent that Kentucky had just elected Matt Bevin who saw his margin grow as the night wore on. Bevin is only Kentucky’s second Republican governor in the last four decades. History was also made in the election of Matt Bevin’s running-mate, Jenean Hampton, who becomes the first female African-American Lt. Governor of Kentucky.

According to Kentucky Registry of Election Finance, Jack Conway outspent Bevin nearly four to one.

Following his concession, the Democratic Governors Association (DGA) released the following statement with regard to the governors election results:

“Attorney General Jack Conway ran a strong campaign focused on the issues that matter to Kentuckians: good schools, good-paying jobs and economic opportunity,” said DGA Executive Director Elizabeth Pearson. “unfortunately, he ran into the unexpected headwinds of Trump-mania, losing to an outsider candidate in the year of the Outsider. While Jack Conway came up short tonight, his presence in this race strengthened the issues debate in Kentucky.”

The results for the Tuesday’s elections as of press time are as follows:


[Winner] Matt Bevin (GOP) 464,948 – 52 percent

Jack Conway (Dem) 392,868 – 44 percent

Drew Curtis (Ind) 33,157 – 4 percent

State Auditor

[Winner] Mike Harmon (GOP) 439,873 – 51 percent

Adam Edelen (Dem) 414,663 – 49 percent

Agriculture Commissioner

[Winner] Ryan Quarles (GOP) 510,446 – 60 percent

Jean-Marie Lawson Spann (Dem) 342,675 – 40 percent

Secretary of State

[Winner] Alison Lundergan Grimes (Dem) 452,179 – 51 percent

Stephen Knipper (GOP) 426,759 – 49 percent

Supreme Court District 7

[Winner] Sam Wright (NP) 40,197 – 52 percent

Janet Stumbo (NP) 37,231 – 48 percent


[Winner] Allison Ball (GOP) 520,970 – 61 percent

Rick Nelson (Dem) 337,001 – 39 percent

Attorney General

[Winner] Andy Beshear (Dem) 471,840 – 50 percent

Whitney Westerfield (GOP) 470,016 – 50 percent

With no national elections and few local affairs to speak of, voter turnout responded in kind during Tuesday’s election.

As the count was read, Kentucky was reporting less than one million of it’s nearly five million citizens had voted. In Floyd County, with 100 percent of precincts reporting, the voter count was 9,804.

Republicans take four out of six state races

by Jackson Latta

Reach Jackson Latta at (606) 886-8506

Reach Jackson Latta at (606) 886-8506


10:19 am
Updated: 1:18 pm. |    
Mudslide holds up traffic in Grethel
9:14 am
Updated: 9:14 am. |    
Chamber holds 53rd awards banquet
comments powered by Disqus