Applications now being accepted for Robinson Scholars High School Enrichment Program

Staff Report

LEXINGTON — The Robinson Scholars Program at the University of Kentucky will accept applications for its high school leadership program through Friday, Jan. 29, 2016.

To be eligible, applicants must be in the freshman year of high school, reside in one of the 29 Eastern Kentucky counties in the Robinson Scholars service area, and be first generation with an interest in obtaining a four-year college degree. First generation students are those whose parents or legal guardians do not hold four-year college degrees.

Those selected to be Robinson Leaders are eligible to participate free of charge in college preparation activities, leadership development, cultural trips and summer camps provided by the Robinson Scholars Program. Those accepted will also be eligible to apply for the Robinson Scholarship, which is a full scholarship to the University of Kentucky.

Applicants to the high school enrichment program are selected based on factors such as academic achievement, participation in community service, extracurricular activities, and involvement in personal enrichment. Some scoring preference is also given to low income students, but low income status is not necessary to be considered for induction. About 87 Robinson Leaders will be chosen from the 29-county service region for the 2016 cohort.

“We challenge students to seek their full potential,” said Jeff Spradling, director of Robinson Scholars. “Students who complete the Robinson enrichment program are well situated to succeed in college and life. Our program stresses a set of core values that promote citizenship. Our students strive for academic excellence, serve their communities, and take personal responsibility for their success.”

Applications can be made online through the Robinson Scholars Program Web site at

Follow the link to the application. Application instructions are provided, and applicants are also asked to submit paperwork to complete the process. Students who do not have computer access may obtain a paper copy of the application and instructions from their high school guidance counselors.

First generation students in the following eastern Kentucky counties are eligible to participate in the program: Bell, Breathitt, Carter, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, McCreary, Menifee, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Rockcastle, Whitley and Wolfe.

The Robinson Scholars Program is part of the Academy of Undergraduate Excellence within the Division of Undergraduate Education at UK.

For more information about Robinson Leaders, the Robinson Scholars Program, or the application process, visit the Robinson Scholars website or contact Jessica Watkins at 606-666-2438, extension 232.

Staff Report

comments powered by Disqus