KYCOM honors graduates, faculty

PIKEVILLE – The University of Pikeville-Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (KYCOM) recently held its annual graduation banquet honoring graduates and faculty members.

Katelin Anne Turner, D.O., of Union City, Tenn., received the Dean’s Award. The Dean’s Award is presented to the student whose leadership, humanity and loyalty to the profession exemplify the ideals, mission and goals of KYCOM.

Selena Gayle McGee Raines, D.O., of Louisville, received the John A. Strosnider, D.O., Memorial Scholarship Award. The award recognizes a KYCOM graduate who exemplifies Strosnider’s commitment to family medicine and his love and dedication to osteopathic medicine and the osteopathic profession. Strosnider served as founding dean of KYCOM and president of the American Osteopathic Association from 2006-2007. Justin Thor Lande, D.O., of Lenoir, N.C., received the James E. Campbell, D.O., Award. The award is presented by the James E. Campbell Education Fund to a deserving KYCOM graduate from the Appalachian region of Kentucky. Olivia Danielle Hamilton, D.O., of Pikeville, received the Stephen M. Payson, M.S., Memorial Scholarship Award, presented to a graduate from the Appalachian region who exemplifies Payson’s commitment to the mission of KYCOM and the promotion of the osteopathic profession. The awards were presented by Boyd R. Buser, D.O., FACOFP, vice president for health affairs and dean of KYCOM.

Ashley Miranda Thompson, D.O., of Hindman, received the President’s Award, the Board of Trustees Award and the Muniramiah Krishnamurthy, M.D. Award. The President’s Award, presented to the student who has demonstrated clinical excellence, earning the highest average score on clinical rotations and was presented by University of Pikeville Chancellor and Interim President Paul Patton. The Board of Trustees Award is presented for academic excellence to the student earning the highest grade point average during the first two years of medical school and was presented by Terry Dotson, chairman of the University of Pikeville Board of Trustees. The Muniramiah Krishnamurthy, M.D., Award is presented for excellence in internal medicine and was presented by Ambika Krishnamurthy, D.O., KYCOM alumna.

Brandon Keith McHenry, D.O., of Versailles, received the Mr. Dharam Pal Kashyap Award presented for excellence in pediatrics. The award was presented by Seema Sachdeva, M.D., vice chair, division of pediatrics at KYCOM.

Nickolas Ray Collins, D.O., of Flatwoods, received the Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award. The award was sponsored by the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine and awarded for excellence in emergency medicine. The award was presented by William T. Betz, D.O., MBA, FACOFP, dist., senior associate dean for osteopathic medical education at KYCOM.

John Motley Alford, Jr., D.O., of Edgewood, Patrick Ian McGlasson, D.O., of Hebron, Robert Alexander Oliver, D.O., of Mason, Ohio, Thomas Lee Sharp, II, D.O., of Alexandria, and Kera Jessica Walter, D.O., of LaGrange, Ky., received The Doctors Foundation Award for Family Medicine Residents. The awards are presented by The Doctors Foundation of Greater Cincinnati, Ohio, to students committed to living in Greater Cincinnati during residency and who exhibit excellence in academics, vision for family medicine and service to community.

Lauren Ashley Fetsko, D.O., of Greenwood, Ind., was named Student D.O. of the Year. The Student D.O. of the Year award is presented by the Council of Student Government Presidents to the student who best exemplifies the ideal qualities of an osteopathic medical student. The award is based on service to the school, the community and osteopathic medicine.

Tia Collins of Olive Hill, received the Donna Jones Moritsugu Award which recognizes the spouse of a graduating student who best exemplifies the role of a professional’s partner who is supportive of mate, family and profession. Collins’ husband, Nickolas Ray Collins, D.O., is a member of the KYCOM class of 2015.

Mikel David Headford, D.O., of LaGrange, Justin Thor Lande, D.O., and Selena Gayle McGee Raines, D.O., received the Ram’s Head Award. The awards were presented by Laura Griffin, D.O., FAAO, associate professor of Osteopathic Principles and Practice (OPP) and chair of the department of OPP, for the Fellowship Program in recognition of outstanding achievements in OPP.

Cassandra A. Garrett, D.O., of McDowell; Christopher C. Glaser, M.D., of Owensboro; Kenneth E. Green, M.D., of Leitchfield; Rebecca C. Hobbs, D.O., of Pikeville; William P. Klapheke, M.D., of Glasgow; Robert J. Reichling, M.D., of Lenoir, N.C., and T. Paul Wilder, M.D., of Henderson; received Clinical Excellence in Medical Education Awards. Nominated by students, the awards were presented to physicians who served as outstanding role models, provided excellent clinical education and demonstrated professionalism in the art and science of medicine.

Darian K. Ratliff, M.D., of Hazard, received the Clinical Medical Educator of the Year Award. The award is presented to the clinical preceptor who has served with distinction in and dedication to medical education for the students of KYCOM.

comments powered by Disqus