Marsillett earns Lifesaving Medal

Floyd Countian Darvin Marsillett was among six officers from around the state awarded a Lifesaving Medal.

Auxier resident Darvin Marsillett received a Lifesaving Medal and was named the Region 6 Officer of the Year.

AUXIER – Auxier resident and lifelong Floyd Countian, CVE Officer Darvin Marsillett, was recognized at a Kentucky State Police awards ceremony in Lexington on Thursday.

Marsillett was one of six officers to receive the Lifesaving Medal, awarded to officers who perform life-saving acts under extraordinary circumstances. He was also named Officer of the Year for Region 6 (Pikeville). Six other fellow CVE officers were honored at the region level.

The Governor’s Medal of Valor was presented posthumously to Delano G. Powell, a Kentucky State Trooper killed in the line of duty in 1965. Kentucky Justice and Public Safety Cabinet Secretary J. Michael Brown presented the award to Powell’s widow and niece, Barbara Teague and Phyllis McGuire of Campbellsburg, on behalf of Gov. Steve Beshear.

In addition to Marsillett, Trooper Chad W. Gregory (Post 10, Harlan), Trooper Michael J. Brigmon (Post 10, Harlan), Sr. Trooper Jason E. Brown (Post 8, Morehead), Sr. Trooper Jeremy W. Smith (Post 3, Bowling Green) and Trooper First Class Ronnie R. Reynolds (Post 3, Bowling Green) earned Lifesaving Medals.

comments powered by Disqus