Floyd County schools announce conservation contest winners

by Jackson Latta - [email protected]

PRESTONSBURG – Students from around the county were recognized this week when the winners of this years Floyd County conservation writing contest were announced.

Superintendent Dr. Henry Webb announced the results of this years Floyd County Conservation Art & Writing Contest Winners for the students in the Floyd County Schools district.

Webb says that Floyd students are extremely talented, and that talent is on display in this years submissions.

“The board team and I want to congratulate our school and county winners,” said Webb. “We’re pleased to see our students understand the importance of wildlife conservation and use their creativity to help persuade everyone to respect and take action.

This years winners are included as follows

COUNTY Kindergarten Winners COUNTY Art Winners

  • First Madison Wynn (PES); Todd Prater (DES)
  • Second Maddie Steward (MES); Mary Olivia Robinson (PES)
  • Third Drew Audree Akers (MVES); Caroline Johnson (MVES)

COUNTY Writing Winners

  • Second Katie Kidd (BLES)
  • Third Nathan Marsillett (AMS)

School Kindergarten Winners

May Valley Elementary

  • First Drew Audree Akers
  • Second Hannah Webb
  • Third Macie Clark

McDowell Elementary

  • First Maddie Stewart
  • Second Gabrielle Moore
  • Third Tyler Hall

Prestonsburg Elementary

  • First Madison Wynn
  • Second Shelby Pennington
  • Third Jerrika Fannin

John M. Stumbo Elem.

  • First Presleigh Adams
  • Second Trevor Blankenship
  • Third Gage Williams

School Art Winners

James A. Duff Elementary

  • First Todd Prater

May Valley Elementary

  • First Caroline Johnson
  • Second J.D. McKinney
  • Third Audrey Ruth Bays

McDowell Elementary

  • First Madison Little
  • Second Gavin Hamilton
  • Third Amanda Slone

Osborne Elementary

  • First Olivia Wnek

Prestonsburg Elementary

  • First Mary Olivia Robinson
  • Second Ava C. Allen
  • Third Devin Gunn

John M. Stumbo Elemrntary

  • First Angel Harris
  • Second Allison Newsome
  • Third Aliah Corman

School Writing Winners

Adams Middle

  • First Nathan Marsillett
  • Second Luke Hyden
  • Third Tabitha Mitchell

Allen Central Middle

  • First Kiara Warrens
  • Second Kamryn Webb
  • Third Lillian Mimnaugh

Betsy Layne Elementary

  • First Katie Kidd
  • Second Kelsi Brinager
  • Third Caleb Gearheart

Betsy Layne High

  • First Kelsey Smith
  • Second Zachary Stegall

Prestonsburg High

  • First Tyler Martin
  • Second Sarah Hackworth
  • Third Logan Dotson

Webb says he hopes everyone in the community will join him and the board in congratulating this years winners on their hard work.

by Jackson Latta

[email protected]

Follow on Twitter @JacksonLatta

Follow on Twitter @JacksonLatta


10:19 am
Updated: 1:18 pm. |    
Mudslide holds up traffic in Grethel
9:14 am
Updated: 9:14 am. |    
Chamber holds 53rd awards banquet
comments powered by Disqus