Stumbo announces new House Special Committee on Advanced Communications and Information Technology

FRANKFORT – House Speaker Greg Stumbo, (D-Prestonsburg), has announced the formation of the House Special Committee on Advanced Communications and Information Technology. Rep. Martha Jane King (D-Lewisburg) has been appointed to chair the committee, which will meet during the interim months of the General Assembly.

“Rep. King has proven to be highly capable in understanding complex technological subjects and issues and I am confident her expertise and leadership will serve this ground-breaking committee well,” said Speaker Stumbo.

The Advanced Communications and Information Technology Committee will discuss and explore technological issues that drive and affect Kentucky’s economy, infrastructure, public safety, communications and education.

“Emerging technologies are changing the landscape of our commonwealth with breath-taking speed, and it’s important that the House has recognized the need for establishing this forum where legislators are informed and educated,” said Rep. King.

The General Assembly has sixteen standing committees that meet during the legislative session each year, but none are devoted to technological issues. Currently, legislation in this field is assigned to various committees.

House members appointed to the new committee include Rep. Denny Butler, (D-Louisville), Rep. Will Coursey, (D-Symsonia), Rep. James Kay, (D-Versailles), Rep. Terry Mills, (D-Lebanon), Rep. Chris Harris, (D-Forest Hills), Rep. Dean Schamore, (D-Hardinsburg), Rep. Arnold Simpson, (D-Covington), Rep. Regina Bunch, (R-Williamsburg), Rep. Adam Koenig, (R-Erlanger), and Rep. Brian Linder, (R-Dry Ridge).

The committee’s first meeting will be held on Tuesday, June 23rd, at 1:00 p.m., in Room 129 of the Annex. Representatives of the Finance Cabinet will testify on the statewide “KentuckyWired” broadband initiative.

“I am proud of Speaker Stumbo and House Leadership’s vision in creating the Advanced Communications and Information Technology Committee and appreciate his confidence in me to lead this new initiative,” said Rep. King. “I’m hopeful our work will highlight the need to make this committee permanent.”

comments powered by Disqus