Phi Theta Kappa inducts new members

Staff Report

PRESTONSBURG – The Alpha Nu Zeta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) at Big Sandy Community and Technical College (BSCTC) held an induction ceremony for distinguished students on Thursday, March 24 in the Gearheart Auditorium on the Prestonsburg campus.

The program was dedicated to the late Dr. Bill Loftus, who spent 20 years as the advisor for the BSCTC’s Alpha Nu Zeta PTK chapter. Dr. Loftus passed away on Monday, March 21.

Michael Schmitt, a Paintsville attorney, was the guest speaker.

The Alpha Nu Zeta chapter attended the 2015 National Conference and were named a four-star chapter; second runner-up as a distinguished chapter; second runner-up in College Project; and Honors in Action first runner-up. Josh Mullins and Olivia Slone were named distinguished chapter officers; and Mullins, Slone, Kaitlyn Campbell and Olivia Colvin were named as a distinguished chapter officer team.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, PTK provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Dr. Kathryn Miller, Mark Wells and Dr. Fallon Watson are sponsors of the Alpha Nu Zeta chapter.

Staff Report


10:19 am
Updated: 1:18 pm. |    
Mudslide holds up traffic in Grethel
9:14 am
Updated: 9:14 am. |    
Chamber holds 53rd awards banquet
comments powered by Disqus