Floyd County students selected as Governor’s Scholars

Staff Report

PRESTONSBURG – Floyd County Superintendent Henry Webb has announced the Floyd County students who have been selected for the Kentucky Governor’s Scholar Program, an enhanced summer learning program for students going into their senior year of high school. Along with an incredible experience, students receive scholarships that average more than $60,000, depending on the college/university the student selects.

The students selected are Zach Akers (Betsy Layne High School), Hannah Depoy (Prestonsburg High School), Victoria Johnson (Prestonsburg High School) and Kaylee Williams (Prestonsburg High School).

The process for selection as a Governor’s Scholar is detailed and competitive. Along with a written essay, students are judged on the quality of their grades and test scores. Floyd County’s best applicants then compete with students from across Kentucky.

“The board team and I are excited about the amazing opportunity these kids will have through this program and we’re proud of them for being outstanding students and obtaining this honor,” Dr. Webb commented. “Congratulations Zach, Hanna, Victoria and Kaylee! We look forward to hearing about your experiences as 2016 Governor’s Scholars.”

Staff Report

comments powered by Disqus