Stumbo announces House Task Force on Vulnerable Kentuckians

Staff Report

FRANKFORT – House Speaker Greg Stumbo (D-Prestonsburg) announced the establishment of the bipartisan House Task Force on Vulnerable Kentuckians to be chaired by Rep. Jim Wayne, (D-Louisville) on Monday.

The task force will study issues and problems that affect Kentucky’s indigent population in a series of meetings to be held in each of the commonwealth’s six congressional districts, beginning in June.

“It is clear, particularly after the governor’s vetoes which slashed programs and funding for Kentucky’s most vulnerable citizens, that a comprehensive review and fact finding initiative is needed to provide more support and a targeted strategy for families, children and seniors,” Speaker Stumbo said.

The task force will seek input from citizens and stakeholders at each meeting and while agendas are not yet finalized, issues to be discussed could include poverty, healthcare, homelessness, drug treatment, senior care centers, and disabled children and adults. The task force will monitor changes to expanded Medicaid and the functionality of enrollment in October as Medicaid eligibles are transferred to the federal exchange.

The task force will report their findings and legislative recommendations in December for consideration in the 2017 session.

“We have already seen the devastating consequences of the Bevin administration’s dismantling of Kynect and botched rollout of Benefind, and it is imperative that we craft a sound package of policies and funding strategies to preclude future harmful decisions in the next session,” said Rep. Wayne.

Members appointed by Speaker Stumbo include: Rep. Jim Wayne. D-Louisville, Chair; Rep. Joni Jenkins, D- Louisville, Vice Chair; Rep. George Brown, D-Lexington; Rep. Myron Dossett, R-Pembroke; Rep. David Floyd, R-Bardstown; Rep. Chris Harris, D-Forest Hills; Rep. Mary Lou Marzian, D-Louisville; Rep. David Meade, R-Stanford;

Rep. Terry Mills, D-Lebanon; Rep. Darryl Owens, D-Louisville; Rep. Arnold Simpson, D-Covington; Rep. Jimmy Stewart, R-Flat Lick and Rep. David Watkins, D-Henderson.

The first meeting of the task force will be June 1 at a time and location to be announced.

Staff Report


10:19 am
Updated: 1:18 pm. |    
Mudslide holds up traffic in Grethel
9:14 am
Updated: 9:14 am. |    
Chamber holds 53rd awards banquet
comments powered by Disqus