FC Kentucky reaches state semis

Beth Burchett moved the ball for the FC Kentucky team.

Grace Trusty was one of four players from Floyd County on the FC Kentucky squad.

Jillian Kidd contributed for the Eastern Kentucky-based girls’ soccer team throughout the Kentucky State Open Cup.

Makayla Ousley stayed out in front of an opposing player during the state tournament.

FC Kentucky 2002 is pictured. Back row (left to right): Coach Jordan Hildefort, Jillian Kidd, Clare Huff, Georgia Arrington, Hope Auxier, Ally Moore, Elizabeth Burchett, Hayleah Fletcher, Sarah Lycans, Grace Trusty, Coach Kyle Sniatecki. Front row (left to right): Morgan Bradley, Makayla Ousley, Abby Huff, Ainsley Bender, Elizabeth Senters, Hannah Howell.

LEXINGTON – The FC Kentucky 2002 girls’ soccer team reached the semifinals of the Kentucky State Open Cup in Bowling Green. Lexington FC edged FC Kentucky 1-0 after scoring with three minutes remaining in the match.

Over the Memorial Day Weekend, the FC Kentucky 2002 girls’ soccer team, a travel squad with players from Ashland, Louisa, Prestonsburg, Paintsville and Russell, won its Group at the Kentucky State Open Cup in Bowling Green. The Kentucky State Open Cup is the state championship, featuring the best teams in Kentucky competing for the right to represent Kentucky at the US Youth Soccer Midwest Regional Championship in Fox City, Wisconsin in June.

Earlier in the state tournament,FC Kentucky tied Oldham SC (Louisville) 1-1, defeated Sky Select (Bowling Green) 4-0 and defeated Javanon ‘02 (Louisville) 1-0.

After advancing, FC Kentucky made the first appearance of any Eastern Kentucky team in the Kentucky State Open Cup Semifinals.

There are four members of the FC Kentuicky 2002 girls’ team from Floyd County. Other team members hail from Paintsville, Ashland and Russell. All four players from Floyd County attend Adams Middle School. The Floyd County contingent is made up of Beth Burchett (striker), Jillian Kidd (center back), Makayla Ousley (center midfield), and Grace Trusty (outside back).

The team is under the guidance of two former four-year starters at Marshall University – head coach Kyle Sniatecki and assistant coach Jordan Hildefort.

comments powered by Disqus