High school football playoffs set to kick off

By Steve LeMaster - [email protected]

Area high school football teams and squads from throughout the state will take the field for the opening round of the state playoffs on Friday night.

Two of Floyd County’s four high school football teams qualified for the state playoffs. Prestonsburg is set to visit Lexington Christian and South Floyd is slated to play on the road at Williamsburg.

The 2015 Russell Athletic/KHSAA Commonwealth Gridiron Bowl State Football Finals are slated for Houchens Industries/L.T. Smith Stadium on the campus of Western Kentucky University the weekend of December 3-6. The tentative schedule for the event has the games scheduled as follows (All times Central): Friday, Dec. 4 – 1A – 11 a.m., 2A – 2:30 p.m., 6A – 6 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 5 – 3A – 11 a.m., 4A – 2:30 p.m., 5A – 6 p.m.

If Western Kentucky University earns the right to host the Conference USA Championship game the same weekend as the Russell Athletic/KHSAA Commonwealth Gridiron Bowl, the schedule of games for the state football finals would have to be adjusted as follows: Thursday, Dec. 3 – 1A – 7 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 5 – 6A – 5 p.m., 5A – 8 p.m.; Sunday, Dec. 6 – 2A – 1 p.m., 3A – 4 p.m., 4A – 7 p.m.

The complete first round schedule for each of the state’s six classes follows.

High School Football Playoffs

First Round

Friday, Nov. 6

Class A

Region 1

Fort Knox at (1) Russellville

Fulton City at (2) Campbellsville

Caverna at (2) Crittenden County

Fulton County at (1) Bethlehem

Region 2

Dayton at (1) Louisville Holy Cross

Kentucky Country Day at (2) Ludlow

Bellevue at (2) Frankfort

Eminence at (1) Beechwood

Region 3

Bye: (1) Paris

Nicholas County at (2) Fairview

Raceland at (2) Bishop Brossart

Bracken County at (1) Paintsville

Region 4

Jenkins at (1) Harlan

Pineville at (2) Hazard

South Floyd at (2) Williamsburg

Lynn Camp at (1) Pikeville

Class 2A

Region 1

Hancock County at (1) Mayfield

Ballard Memorial at (2) Butler County

McLean County at (2) Murray

Webster County at (1) Owensboro Catholic

Region 2

Shawnee at (1) Monroe County

Green County at (2) DeSales

Washington County at (2) Glasgow

Metcalfe County at (1) Louisville Christian

Region 3

Newport at (1) Walton-Verona

Carroll County at (2) Lloyd Memorial

Covington Holy Cross at (2) Owen County

Gallatin County at (1) Newport Central Catholic

Region 4

East Ridge at (1) Danville

Somerset at (2) Leslie County

Prestonsburg at (2) Lexington Christian

Middlesboro at (1) Shelby Valley

Class 3A

Region 1

Hart County at (1) Caldwell County

Union County at (2) Adair County

Edmonson County at (2) Paducah Tilghman

Fort Campbell at (1) Elizabethtown

Region 2

Western Hills at (1) Central

Waggener at (2) Boyle County

Garrard County at Henry County

Bardstown at (1) Lexington Catholic

Region 3

Sheldon Clark at (1) West Carter

Fleming County at (2) Lawrence County

Pike County Central at (2) Russell

Bath County at (1) Belfry

Region 4

Jackson County at (1) Powell County

Estill County at (2) Bell County

Casey County at (2) Breathitt County

Knott County Central at (1) Corbin

Class 4A

Region 1

Warren Central at (1) Hopkinsville

Madisonville at (2) Franklin-Simpson

Allen County-Scottsville at (2) Calloway County

Hopkins County Central at (1) South Warren

Region 2

Franklin County at (1) John Hardin

Western at (2) Spencer County

Collins at (2) Valley

Breckinridge County at (1) Shelby County

Region 3

Clay County at (1) Mercer County

Taylor County at (2) Knox Central

Rockcastle County (2) East Jessamine

West Jessamine at (1) Wayne County

Region 4

Rowan County at (1) Scott

Bourbon County at (2) Ashland Blazer

Greenup County at (2) Harrison County

Holmes at (1) Johnson Central

Class 5A

Region 1

Grayson County at (1) Owensboro

Graves County at (2) Greenwood

Barren County at (2) Christian County

Apollo at (1) Bowling Green

Region 2

Southern at (1) South Oldham

Bullitt East at (2) Fairdale

Doss at (2) North Bullitt

Bullitt Central at (1) Fern Creek

Region 3

Woodford County at (1) Highlands

Dixie Heights at (2) Montgomery County

Anderson County at (2) Covington Catholic

Grant County at (1) Madison Southern

Region 4

Letcher County Central at (1) Pulaski County

Lincoln County at (2) Harlan County

Whitley County at (2) Southwestern

South Laurel at (1) North Laurel

Class 6A

Region 1

Muhlenberg County at (1) McCracken County

Daviess County at (2) North Hardin

Meade County at (2) Henderson County

Ohio County at (1) Central Hardin

Region 2

Jeffersontown at (1) Male

Manual at (2) Ballard

Eastern at (2) St. Xavier

Pleasure Ridge Park at (1) Trinity

Region 3

Seneca at (1) Cooper

Conner at (2) Campbell County

Boone County at (2) Ryle

Butler at (1) Simon Kenton

Region 4

Clark County at (1) Scott County

Bryan Station at (2) Tates Creek

Madison Central at (2) Henry Clay

Paul Laurence Dunbar at (1) Lafayette


By Steve LeMaster

[email protected]

Steve LeMaster is the editor of The Floyd County Times. He can be reached at (606) 886-8506.

Steve LeMaster is the editor of The Floyd County Times. He can be reached at (606) 886-8506.


10:19 am
Updated: 1:18 pm. |    
Mudslide holds up traffic in Grethel
9:14 am
Updated: 9:14 am. |    
Chamber holds 53rd awards banquet
comments powered by Disqus