Kendrick named Class A Player of the Year

By Steve LeMaster -

LEXINGTON – The Kentucky Volleyball Coaches Association announced its All-State Teams for the 2015 season on Monday. Allen Central senior Katie Kendrick was named the Class A Player of the Year. Kendrick, who led Allen Central to its fifth straight 15th Region championship, received the region’s player of the year award during the KHSAA State Tournament over the weekend.

The KVCA also honored Notre Dame senior Morgan Hentz as the 2015 Miss Volleyball and Class 3A Player of the Year. Louisville Christian senior Caroline Rassenfoss was named the Class 2A Player of the Year.

Allen Central senior Janah Halbert was named to the All-State Second Team.

A complete list of the All-State honorees follows.

Class 3A Player of the Year: Morgan Hentz, Notre Dame

Class 2A Player of the Year: Caroline Rassenfoss, Louisville Christian.

Class A Player of the Year: Katie Kendrick, Allen Central.

First Team: Doris Carter, Tates Creek; Leah Edmond, Paul Laurence Dunbar; Morgan Elmore, Mercy; Casey Foote, North Oldham; Alli Gregory, Assumption; Paige Hammons, Sacred Heart; Morgan Hentz, Notre Dame; Natalie Jones, Owensboro Catholic; Katie Kendrick, Allen Central; Shelby Olsen, Assumption; Caroline Rassenfoss, Louisville Christian; Kara Schacklette, Assumption; Hallie Shelton, Henry Clay; Jalen Story, Presentation; Hannah Talkers, Notre Dame; Jessica Tapp, Scott; Anna Zwiebel, Sacred Heart.

Second Team: Lauryn Bennett, Sacred Heart; Lauren Brown, Owensboro Catholic; Shelby Buschkoetter, Daviess County; Hailey Bush, Ryle; Jordan Coomes, Apollo; Megan Crush, Sacred Heart; Jannah Halbert, Allen Central; Cate Hyde, McCracken County; Jaylen McEwen, Daviess County; Kelly O’Neil, Mercy; Chloe Owen, LaRue County; Allison Powers, Central Hardin; Madison Salkowski, Notre Dame; Sarah Snyder, North Oldham; Megan Taylor, Paintsville; Emma Yarber, Henry Clay.

Honorable Mention: Hannah Bevins, East Ridge; Bridget Downs, Lafayette; Alexxa Gearheart, Pikeville; Lydia Jackson, South Warren; Emily Kidd, Betsy Layne; Abbey Meade, Paintsville; Kelsey Miller, Oldham County; Darby Music, Henry Clay; Margaret O’Bryan, Apollo; Morgan Pugh, Leslie County; Macy Reihing, Tates Creek; Saylor Sandlin, Elizabethtown; Katie Shunk, Paul Laurence Dunbar; Kaity Smith, Cooper; Janelle Tobler, St. Henry; Callie Young, Southwestern.

By Steve LeMaster

Steve LeMaster is the editor of The Floyd County Times. He can be reached at (606) 886-8506.

Steve LeMaster is the editor of The Floyd County Times. He can be reached at (606) 886-8506.

comments powered by Disqus