Weaver wins Lucas Oil Ole Smoky Moonshine Classic

MARYVILLE, Tenn. – Randy Weaver sprinted to the first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of his career on Saturday night at Smoky Mountain Speedway. In front of a record-setting crowd, the 45-year-old driver took the lead on lap 17 from Chris Ferguson and went unchallenged to win the Lucas Oil Ole Smoky Moonshine Classic.

Weaver drove the Chip Stone-owned Longhorn Chassis and becomes the 11th different winner this season on the LOLDMS tour. Scott Bloomquist finished second, followed by 10th place starter Jonathan Davenport. Rounding out the Top-5 were Jimmy Owens, and Casey Roberts.

“First and foremost, I am thinking about my dad,” Weaver said. “Tomorrow is father’s day. It’s going to be a tough one with this being my first one without him. The Good Lord takes care of me and my family. He lets me do this for a living. The crew we have is great; the car was great as well. I’d like to thank my car owner Chip Stone for all of this.

“To beat Scott (Bloomquist) and Jonathan (Davenport) is just unbelievable. Davenport and I are pals and we talk quite a bit, but not about racing. If there was someone to end his streak I guess I would have been a good choice.”

Bloomquist came home second but was several car lengths behind Weaver at the finish.

“We had a really good car here tonight,” Bloomquist said. “The track kind of slicked over more than we thought it would. We went with a softer tire than some others. After the last two nights, we will take this and head to the next one. I want to thank Mike Reece of Reece Monument Company, Crop Production Services, Dyna Gro, Lucas Oil, and all of my other sponsors for their support.”

Bouncing back from brake line troubles in time trials, and starting deep in his heat race, Davenport managed to rebound in impressive style. He started in 10th for the 50 lap feature and fought his way past some stiff competition to finish third. “We needed a caution at the end,” Davenport said. “Scott and I had a good battle to in the closing laps. I don‘t know if I would have had anything for Randy; he was awfully strong tonight. Congratulations to him on the win.”

“I’m very thankful to A.F. Stone Professional Medical Services, Mission Transport, Stone Land Clearing and Excavating, Save More Commercial Laundry, VP, and Outlaw Racing Southeast,” Weaver added. “This Cornett Ford has been flawless all year. I want to thank all the fans for coming out tonight hopefully they saw a good show.”

Completing the top 10 were Earl Pearson, Jr., Chris Ferguson, Jared Landers, Tommy Kerr and Dennis Erb Jr.

In preliminary action, Chris Ferguson set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 32 entrants, with a lap of 15.387 seconds. Scott Bloomquist set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.691 seconds. Chris Ferguson, Scott Bloomquist, Scott Bloomquist, and Skip Arp won their respective heat races. Steve Francis and Ray Cook won their respective B-Mains.

comments powered by Disqus