KHSAA announces Official of the Year nominees

Staff Report

LEXINGTON – The Kentucky High School Athletic Association (KHSAA) will honor the top officials for 2016 on May 1 at its 23rd Annual Officials Recognition Banquet. The ceremony, conducted at the KHSAA Offices, will honor the finalists for each sport or sport-activity in which the KHSAA licenses officials.

Finalists in each sport were selected through a combination of their service to their association and excellence in officiating. One official in each sport will be named “Outstanding Official of the Year” for his/her sport in appreciation of their dedication and service to schools and student-athletes across the state. The Association will also present the annual Larry G. Boucher Jr. Supervisor of the Year Award during the ceremony.

The Outstanding Official Nominees follow.

Baseball – Paul Schardein (Louisville), Chris Minter (Richmond), Creal Waddell (Bowling Green).

Basketball – Romonte Dishman (Louisville), Molly Caldwell (Lexington), Jim Cecil (Pikeville), Harold Byrd (Mount Washington).

Competitive Cheer – Gayle Trame (Taylor Mill), Dewana Warrix (Lexington).

Field Hockey – Mary Brainard (Lexington), Yaphet Edghill (Louisville).

Football – Jim Cecil (Pikeville), Jim Gutterman (Louisville), Joe Lewis (Paducah).

Soccer – Keith Green (Wingo), Paul Terry (Bowling Green).

Softball – Pete Runyon (Pinsonfork), Steve Chasteen (Cynthiana).

Swimming & Diving – Ray Stoess (Louisville), Mike Zehnder (Louisville).

Track & Field/Cross Country – Kathy Johnston (Lexington), David Clark (Dry Ridge).

Volleyball – Scott Wehr (Buckner), Jimmy Beckett (Georgetown).

Wrestling – Allen Dennison (Rineyville), Garrett Pikul (Louisville).

Staff Report

comments powered by Disqus