Last updated: July 18. 2013 7:52PM - 609 Views
Times Staff Report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

LOUISVILLE - Warren East pitcher Hunter Green has been named Mr. Baseball. A senior left-hander, Green was the 59th pick in the Major League Baseball draft earlier in the month. The Los Angeles Angels took him in the second round.

Green registered 221 strikeouts in 102 innings over the last two seasons. He will play for the University of Kentucky if he doesn’t sign with the Angels.

Woodford County pitcher Clinton Hollon, the 47th overall pick in the draft, was runner-up in the Mr. Baseball voting conducted by the Kentucky High School Baseball Coaches Association. Another UK signee, Hollon is expected to sign with the Toronto Blue Jays.

Bill Miller, who led Pleasure Ridge Park to its fifth state title, was named Coach of the Year by the Kentucky High School Baseball Coaches Association.

Kentucky’s All-State baseball team as selected by the Kentucky High School Baseball Coaches Association (KHSBCA) follows.

Mr. Baseball: Hunter Green (Warren East); Coach of the Year: Bill Miller (Pleasure Ridge Park).

First Team: Clinton Hollon (Woodford Co.); Conor Heady (North Oldham); Hunter Green (Warren East); Blake Tiberi (Covington Holy Cross); Sam Higgs (Henderson Co.); Marcus Carson (North Laurel); Logan Parrett (Woodford Co.); Drew Harrington (Central Hardin); Javon Shelby (Tates Creek); Mason Richardson (Owensboro Catholic); Will Smith (Kentucky Country Day); Hunter Johnson (Pleasure Ridge Park); Tyler Robertson (Russell Co.); Kyle Olliges (Pleasure Ridge Park); Logan Taylor (Lexington Catholic); Logan Starnes (Pulaski Southwestern); Devin Hairston (Tates Creek); Dustin Cartas (Logan Co.); Kaleb Duckworth (Henderson Co.); Tanner Edge (Apollo); Jordan Martin (Harrison Co.); Hunter Wood (Bullitt East).Second Team: Austin Clemons (St. Xavier); Dan Sanders (Collins); Sam Melchior (St. Xavier); John Lollar (Murray); Alex Hamilton (Breathitt Co.); Logan Salow (Ashland Blazer); Justin Cessna (Henderson Co.); Alex Miller (Pleasure Ridge Park); Jimmy Wright (Madison Central); Brenden Milby (Green Co.); Taylor Blair (Lexington Christian); Ben Morrison (Bowling Green); Troy Squires (Central Hardin); Sam Goode (Lone Oak); Jordan Olinger (Hazard); Caleb Johnson (Tates Creek); Zeke Pinkham (Elizabethtown); Cable Wright (Bath Co.); Jacob Hamilton (Pikeville); Sam Lee (Montgomery Co.); Josh Cain (Newport Catholic); Sam Stone (Louisville Christian).

Third Team: Harrison Scanlon (Manual); Jake Wilson (Meade Co.); Ben Fisher (Madison Central); David Current (Franklin Co.); Evan Fraliex (Lexington Catholic); Jacob Barnwell (Boyd Co.); Seth Boyle (Greenup Co.); Jeremiah White (Paducah Tilghman); Caleb Kellogg (North Oldham); Micah Miniard (Boyle Co.); John King (Harrison Co.); Conner Callery (Cov. Holy Cross); Tyler Marshall (Louisville Trinity); Corey Wells (Lexington Catholic); Clayton Kelly (North Bullitt); Kyle Schneider (Daviess Co.); Matt Gregory (Scott Co.); Charlie Dishman (Somerset); Alex Sears (South Laurel); Brandon Kendall (Harrison Co.); Cameron Fogle (Conner); Aaron Ochsenbein (Paul Dunbar).

Honorable Mention: Clay Chandler (Ballard Memorial); Jacob Shuler (Apollo); Kevin Pierce (Grayson Co.); Zac Ching (Bullitt East); Daniel Breedlove (DeSales); Steven Husband (Pleasure Ridge Park); Grant Schriever (Covington Catholic); JD Wagoner (Nicholas Co.); Nathan Cracraft (Mason Co.); Joe Kremer (Campbell Co.); Brent Stoneking (Clark Co.); Trey Miller (Lexington Catholic); Boone Saylor (Rockcastle Co.); Max Mahan (West Jessamine); Tyler Boggs (Harlan Co.); Austin Johnson (Hazard); Billy Hatmaker (Powell Co.); Clark Rice (Lawrence Co.); Zach Francisco (Belfry); Sammy Holder (Lewis Co.).

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Prestonsburg Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com